Tofu Scramble.

I was afraid of tofu scrambles for a long time. I don’t usually use tofu as a main dish because I would rather be eating more vegetables. And I don’t like substitutions for animal products like meat and eggs. I’d rather just come up with a creative dish that doesn’t have to look like it isn’t vegan.

However, I finally tried several tofu scramble dishes and, to my surprise, I’ve really enjoyed them! They’re actually just pushers for lots of delicious vegetables. I’ve tinkered around a bit and created my own version. I really just throw in whatever vegetables I have in the fridge so I rarely put all of the vegetables listed into a single scramble… But definitely as many as possible.

photo

Tofu Scramble

Ingredients:

1 medium red onion

2 cloves garlic

1/2 bell pepper

1/2 cup chopped baby bella mushrooms

Small handful of kalamata olives

1/2 can of artichokes (I prefer Trader Joe’s artichokes because they’re canned in water)

Small handful of cherry tomatoes

Small handful of pine nuts

A few leaves of kale

1 pound extra firm tofu

Spices:

1/2 tsp. salt

Fresh pepper

3/4 tsp. turmeric

1/2 tsp. thyme

1/2 tsp. cumin

1/2 tsp. rosemary

1/2 tsp. basil

1/2 tsp. sage

Dash of cayenne

1/3 cup nutritional yeast

Directions:

Chop your onion and then toss it in a large skillet with a few tablespoons of water. As they begin to cook, chop and add the bell pepper and garlic. Deglaze the pan with water whenever you need to – if it looks like it’s about to start sticking, you need more water.

Chop the rest of your vegetables and add them to the skillet gradually (kale last, of course).

Drain your tofu and pat dry. When the vegetables have softened a bit, crumble the tofu straight into the skillet. Deglaze with a few more tablespoons of water.

Add all of your spices and the nutritional yeast and let everything cook for 5 or 10 more minutes.

Serve with a piece of whole wheat toast (or homemade bread), a glass of orange juice, and fresh tomatoes and fresh basil if you’ve got them.

Eat your leftovers on a whole wheat wrap with salsa, sprouts, and black beans!

Leave a Reply

